Electronic Theses and Dissertations



Document Type


Degree Name

Doctor of Musical Arts



Committee Chair

Lenny Schranze

Committee Member

Kenneth Kreitner

Committee Member

Marcin Arendt

Committee Member

Jeremy Orosz

Committee Member

Timothy Shiu


Fidelis Zitterbart Jr. (1845-1915) was a composer living and working in Pittsburgh, Pa. around the turn of the twentieth century. He left behind a substantial number of unpublished manuscripts, which now reside in the Hillman Library at the University of Pittsburgh and are also available in that library’s digital archives. Among the manuscripts are a dozen or so sonatas for viola and piano written between 1875 and 1910. The purpose of this project was to create editions of several of these sonatas for viola and piano, and to surround them with relevant historical, theoretical, and performance background. This document provides a beginning look at the life of Fidelis Zitterbart Jr. as gleaned from a personal research trip to the composer’s hometown of Pittsburgh and a study of newspapers of the time. It also sets forth three new editions of Sonatas Nos. 23, 28, and 33 for viola and piano by Fidelis Zitterbart Jr. The sonatas were composed in 1900, 1904, and 1905 respectively. Previously these Sonatas existed only in manuscript form. Finally, this document contains an analytical look at Sonata No. 33 and my programming thoughts on the music.


Data is provided by the student.

Library Comment

Dissertation or thesis originally submitted to ProQuest.


Open Access