image preview

Source Collection

University Archives, Special Collections Department, University of Memphis Libraries


Training School looking southeast on the campus of Memphis State College, in Memphis, Tennessee, circa 1950. The Training School was established in 1912 in connection with the West Tennessee State Normal School so that the students of the Normal School could gain practical teaching experience under the direction of master teachers. In 1924, on the campus of the Normal School, the Shelby County and State Boards of Education built a new demonstration school which was then placed under the management of the Normal School. The campus of the Training School was incorporated into Memphis City Schools (MCS) in 1930, and the MCS Board of Education joined the State Board of Education to help finance the Training School. Relocated to new facilities in 1963, the Training School had its name officially changed to the Memphis State University Campus School.

Date Created



circa 1950


Memphis State College.; University of Memphis.