Download Full Text (4.4 MB)
18-page booklet titled "Memphis State University Campus School: Together...Unlimited Discoveries Are Made", prepared by the school's faculty around 1965. The publication promotes the facilities and programs of the school. Campus School was established as the Training School in 1912 in connection with the West Tennessee State Normal School so that the students of the Normal School could gain practical teaching experience under the direction of master teachers. In 1924, on the campus of the Normal School, the Shelby County and State Boards of Education built a new demonstration school which was then placed under the management of the Normal School. The campus of the Training School was incorporated into Memphis City Schools (MCS) in 1930, and the MCS Board of Education joined the State Board of Education to help finance the Training School. Relocated to its new facilities in 1963, the Training School had its name officially changed to the MSU Campus School. In 1994, Memphis State University changed its name to The University of Memphis; therefore, the school became The University of Memphis Campus School. In 2013, MCS merged with Shelby County Schools (SCS). Campus School is now designated as a Shelby County School.
Schools--Tennessee--Memphis.; Memphis State University.; University of Memphis.
"Memphis State University Campus School, circa 1965" (2021). Other Publications. 1.